Hargrave Qualifies For State Golf
10/03/16 at Kirksville

     Story by Coach Bob Long
     The Chillicothe Hornets remaining girls golf sectional qualifiers, sophomores Lexi Hargrave and Riley Brobst, competed at the Kirksville Country Club golf course in Kirksville. Macon won the team competition with a score of 397, followed by Gallatin's score of 399. Brookfield finished third in the closely contested team competition with 403. Paige Hawkins of Macon was the medalist, shooting an 86 on the par 71 course. Samantha Cornelius of Penney and Anna Lewis of Moberly tied for runner-up, each with a round of 91.
     Lexi Hargrave shot a 53 on her first nine holes (the back nine), and followed with a 47 to complete the day with an even 100. The score positioned Lexi at 17th out of the field of 50, but more importantly 12th and a state qualifier after the top two teams were given automatic qualification. Lexi began the day playing extremely well, after bogeying the first hole, she parred her second hole of the day. The par 4, eleventh hole sits between a lake and out of bounds stakes. Lexi's third shot circled the cup, before resting within tap in distance. Hargrave also had par on the par 3 fourteenth. Needing her best performance of the season to qualify, Lexi parred the par 3 third, and the sixth and eighth holes (both par 5's). On a course with greens that are faster, smaller and more sloped than she is used to, Lexi played terrific 50 yards and in. Her chipping and putting was the best it has ever been. Lexi will compete in the State Golf Championship Monday, October 10 and Tuesday, October 11 at the Meadow Lake Acres Country Club in Jefferson City. Hornet Riley Brobst got off to a rough start. Despite moments of brilliance, par on the eleventh, fourteenth and seventh, she wasn't able to put together her best performance, shooting a 125. The sophomore is extremely talented and will undoubtedly return for another opportunity in 2017.
     The Girls Golf banquet was held Thursday, September 29 at Royal Inn Pizza. Jensen Simmer and Anna Shackelford received provisional letters. Lauren Price and Maddie Lamp each earned a varsity letter and two bars after receiving provisional letters last season. Hannah Haakonstad and Riley Brobst each earned their initial varsity letter. Lexi Hargrave and Hannah Sherrow each earned their second varsity letter. Hannah Sherrow received the Roger Cranmer Award, for the Most Outstanding Golfer of the season. With all underclassman this year, next season will be competitive and successful.

Contact Us: